Sinfonia Viva in Derby

Tuesday 22nd July 2014 | 7.30pm
Derby Cathedral

Haydn: Il ritorno di Tobia, Hob.XX1:1 : Overture
Schumann: Cello Concerto
Wagner: Siegfried Idyll
Sibelius: Op 44 - Valse Triste and Scene with Cranes
Beethoven: Symphony No.1

Sinfonia Viva in association with Derby LIVE and Orchestras Live is pleased to welcome Fawzi Haimor, resident conductor of the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra, and BBC New Generation artist Leonard Elschenbroich (cello) in bringing this stirring programme to Derby.

Joseph Haydn's 1775 composition Il ritorno di Tobia (The Return of Tobias) was to be overshadowed by his more famous oratorios The Seasons and The Creation. He made several revisions and cuts to the work over the following decade, extracting elements which took on a life of their own. The Overture rightly stands as an orchestral work of intriguing quality.

Written in a fortnight in 1850, for Schumann the Cello Concerto in A minor represented a departure from the norm – a deliberate attempt to break with convention and create something different. Its movements are intended to flow without pause, and in mood it encompasses both romance and excitement as well as reflecting, in its technical intricacy, Schumann's affinity for the cello.

Wagner's Siegfried Idyll was composed as a birthday gift to the composer’s second wife Cosima to celebrate the birth of their eponymous son Siegfried in 1869. Though humble in origin, the significance of the work was such that elements of the Idyll were to resurface in the subsequent 1876 opera Siegfried, the third of the four operas that comprise Der Ring des Nibelungen.

Originally intended as one of a half dozen pieces of incidental music Sibelius wrote for a play in 1903, the following year he revised the work and renamed it Valse Triste. Two years later in 1906, he took two further of the incidental pieces and reworked them into the single composition, Scene with Cranes, which was not published until 1973. Together the former and latter represent contrasting parts of Sibelius’s work; Valse Triste being an instant hit whilst Scene with Cranes remains a rarer, but rewarding, gem.

Beethoven's Symphony No.1, rooted in the structure of 'the Father of the Symphony' Haydn but displaying qualities that are pure Beethoven, was premiered in 1800 and laid the foundations for the subsequent eight further symphonies he would compose - works that would influence the standing of the symphony in the musical world for generations to come.

Please note: this concert programme was re-scheduled from April 2nd due to the current closure of Derby Assembly Rooms.

Supported by Rolls-Royce plc, Derby City Council, Derby LIVE and Orchestras Live. Sinfonia Viva is supported using public funding by the National Lottery through Arts Council England.

Image credits: top left - Felix Broede, top right - Rob Davidson.